It’s Alive! IT’S ALIVE!!

itsalive
After a 19 month absence (yikes!) Mid-Century Living has returned. Various factors contributed to the silence here including general blogging burn out. Here are some of the various highlights (or lowlights) that have occurred since things went dark.

1. Restoring (and renovating) an old house with lots of serious problems (Reminder #1: We bought a 60-year-old short sale ‘fixer-upper’ on of the verge of foreclosure that hadn’t been maintained in years) was a bigger task than I’d personally anticipated with our limited budget & lack of general experience (Reminder #2: This is our first home purchase & I’ve been an apartment renter for most of my life so the learning curve has been HUGE). I knew going into it that I’d be living in chaos for at least 5 years but I wasn’t exactly prepared for how that might wear on my nerves.

2. Due to our commitment to Rancho Del Lindbergs (yes, our home has an official name now!) & in an effort to save money we were forced to move all of our parents belongings out of storage (Reminder: Both sets of our parents are dead) and into our home. This left us with very little room to function and to be frank, my mother was somewhat of a hoarder so it’s taken me a longtime to sort through her long neglected belongings and make sense of things. It’s also been an emotionally draining experience that often left me feeling rather craptastic.

3. A few unexpected financial setbacks also threw a wrench in our renovation plans including a car accident (our only car was hit by an uninsured driver & needed lots of work done), some medical expenses (one of our cats needed surgery & I’ve had some serious eye problems of my own to contend with) as well as home repairs (we’ve had continues plumbing & electrical problems since moving in). On the bright side, we put a new eco-friendly foam roof on our home that has helped us save on electricity bills.

4. My camera broke & this left me unable to take pictures for a longtime, which was a real drag but I have a new camera as well as a cellphone (I’m a late cellphone adapter) and plenty of vintage cameras now. I also had to replace my computer and its taken me awhile to transfer all my old files, etc.

5. At the end of August in 2014 & just a month before I was planning on officially opening my Etsy shop Napa was struck by a 6.0 earthquake that caused major damage to our old home and belongings, including many of the items I’d planned to put in the shop. It also forced our 82-year-old post office to shut down and I ended up losing my P.O. Box in the process. Since then I’ve been a bit jumpy (hardy har har!) and my nerves are still somewhat frazzled. It’s not uncommon for me to wake up at 3:30AM (that’s when the earthquake struck) in a cold sweat. I’ve suffered from insomnia all my life and the earthquake has only managed to compound things. The curious can read my earthquake report at TCM’s Movie Morlocks’ blog: EARTHQUAKE! An Update from the Trenches.

14847154889_d3455b0958_o

A shot of what my office looked like after the earthquake.

Digging out from disaster…

Despite the various ups & downs of the last 19 months, there are plenty of good reasons why I’m recharging Mid-Century Living now.

1. Things at Rancho Del Lindbergs are finally starting to turn around for the better due to a number of factors and hopefully I can start sharing some progress updates as they occur. Seeing some light at the end of the tunnel has also brightened my mood & improved my overall outlook.

2. In the last 19 months I’ve spent a lot of time teaching myself to be a better cook (when you can’t afford to eat out anymore it forces you to be creative in the kitchen!) and I wanted to start sharing some of my cooking adventures here including recipes, tips, etc.

3. I’m determined to finally get my Etsy shop up & running before the year is over and I plan on sharing shop updates here.

4. Despite my blogging burnout, I’ve never lost interest in mid-century design and I’ve been quietly stowing away all kinds of things I want to share here sooner or later.

5. And last but not least, I just missed this place! For one reason or another, this blog gets a lot of traffic and I feel bad for people who surf by and discover a ghost town instead of the fun & lively place I had imagined it would be.

So without further babble & bitchin, lets get this party started again!

6 thoughts on “It’s Alive! IT’S ALIVE!!

  1. Welcome back! I just started following you so it’s all new to me. I run a page on FB called Modern Homes FW (Fort Worth). Glad things are turning around for you – sounds like you jumped into a pile of craptastic things to figure out. I am excited to see pictures of your progress. Happy Tuesday!

  2. New reader and I like your site very much. I guess I caught you at the right re-animation time! I’ll be back.

Leave a Reply

