Monday Link Roundup

I come across a lot of interesting news stories and blog posts every week. I occasionally use Twitter to share things but I decided to start collecting the best links of the past week into a “Monday Link Roundup” because I’m rarely online during the weekend and a lot of good stuff accumulates in my news feed during that time. This way I can also easily keep track of news and stories that appeal to me and hopefully they’ll appeal to Mid-Century Living readers as well.

MONDAY LINK ROUNDUP: 6.25.2011

Mark Brosmer takes readers on a tour of his beautiful 1930s/40s Spanish style home filled with mid-century furniture. I really liked the cozy, lived-in look of the place with its large windows, warm wood paneling and beamed ceiling.

Retro Renovation recently shared a large collection of vintage wallpaper images that are a must see for anyone interested in mid-century textiles.

Brini Maxwell updates her youtube channel every week with new videos and they’re all worth watching. This week she shares her latest Craigslist find, a vintage Nutone Food Center. In case you haven’t heard of Maxwell before (and if you haven’t, what rock have you been living under?) she describes herself as “Part Donna Reed, part Mary Tyler Moore, Maxwell makes kitsch feel classy through her unparalleled personal flair for home design, entertaining and savvy household tips.”

An interview with Monique Lombardelli, the relator turned filmmaker who recently finished a new documentary about real estate developer Joseph Eichler titled People In Glass Houses: The Legacy of Joseph Eichler. Below is a trailer for her upcoming film, which I’m really eager to see.

5 thoughts on “Monday Link Roundup

  1. Thanks for the heads up on the Eichler doc. My husband grew up in one in Lucas Valley and we love them. I refer to our home as a ‘faux Eichler’ as it has a lot of similar characteristics….that were ruined by some bad additions/remodels over the years… but I think we’re doing a pretty good job of restoring it back, as well as mixing in some new modern. You should come by sometime! Would love to meet you!

  2. I’m happy you also appreciated the news about the Eichler doc, Michelle. It looks like it will be really interesting! My father-in-law owned an Eichler in Terra Linda during the last half of his life and it was beautiful. I wish we could have bought it and kept it in the family but we couldn’t afford it and I like living in Napa much more than Marin. Here’s some photos of the house taken before it was sold: https://midcenturyliving.wordpress.com/2009/09/17/the-journey-begins/

    I look forward to seeing what you’ve done to your beautiful home and many thanks for the invite. It would be fun to get together sometime.

Leave a Reply

