Antiquing in Healdsburg


Yesterday my husband & I took advantage of the great Spring weather and went antiquing in Healdsburg. Healdsburg is a cute little CA town about an hour drive from Napa. Best part about the trip was the drive itself that took us down Highway 29 through St. Helena & Calistoga past the enormous Culinary Institute of America. Highway 29 offers one of most scenic drives in CA and the deeper you go into Napa Valley the more it starts to resemble France or Italy. There are castle-like structures such as the world famous Chateau Montelena Winery and Castello di Amorosa along the way as well as the beautiful natural scenery that can literally take your breath away.

In Healdsburg we visited three antique shops that were all large collectives and had multiple booths where a variety of different sellers were selling antiques (and junk!) from every era. There seemed to be a particular focus on Victorian/Deco items and lots of shabby chic everywhere. The shops were all located in the center of town and within walking distance of one another, which made it easy to spend hours just going from one shop to the next. Our first stop was at Healdsburg Classics Antiques, followed by Antique Harvest and Mill Street Antiques. Prices were occasionally on the high side and we didn’t buy much but we spent a few dollars on a Japanese pose doll, a couple of melamine/lucite bracelets, a vintage tie and a few records. I did spot a lot of kitchenware I wanted (and needed!) but I decided to hold off on purchasing anything since our kitchen is currently in a complete state of disarray.

Unfortunately I forgot to bring my camera so I didn’t snap any pics of our day out but I did upload a few photos from Napa & Healdsburg news sites to share. Overall it was a fun trip and I enjoyed exploring other parts of Napa and Sonoma. Next time I find myself in that area I hope to visit the Coppola winery.

Leave a Reply

